Polecats Grand Final Preview

After 16 Rounds and 2 weeks of finals, the stage is set for NSW Tertiary Student Rugby League Grand Finals and with the TAFE Western Sydney Polecats featuring in both 1st Division and 2nd Division it’s going to be a massive day at the biggest Tertiary Grand Final ever!


With the Polecats 1st Division side playing in the decider at Leichhardt Oval for the first time in 9 years, against their old foes the UTS Tigers and a replay of last year’s grand final (Also the last Tertiary League Grand Final was played at Leichhardt Oval in 2007 against the then UTS Jets), the minor premiers will be looking to claim their first back to back titles since the early 90’s. The Polecats regain some form last week against Sydney Uni after a slight slump late in the season, that saw them go down twice to the now favourite UTS Tigers. While the Tigers have been slowly building momentum, each week with revenge for last year’s 4 point loss in the Grand Final against the Polecat always on their minds. So now with the 2016 season only 70 minute left (Unless extra time) the Polecats need to be on song all match and with the last two matches against the Tigers decided by only 4 or less points, one mistake could cost either side a title.


“It couldn’t have been scripted any better. Playing UTS on Grand Final day 12 months after last year’s Big One, we just need to focus on our jobs at hand and work hard for each other.” Dan Jackson Polecats 1st Division Coach!


It’s been 19 years since the Polecats 2nd Division have held aloft the Bill Buckley Trophy, and after the Polecats stunned the undefeated minor premiers the UC Grizzlies in their semi final at Norford, the Polecats are eyeing of the trophy once more, when they take on the Grizzlies once again. It’s been an up and down season for the Polecats, but with the side hitting their straps late in the season this could be the year the Polecats get the monkey of the back. While the Grizzlies have been putting sides away easily all season, winning on average by 34 points and never really been bothered by anyone until they meet the Polecats in the semi-final, they will be now looking to claim the clubs first premiership and this year could see them do.


So with the Polecats 2nd’s playing at 2:00pm against the UC Grizzlies and 1st’s on at 6:00pm against the Tigers, along with the Sydney Womens metro competition 1st and 2nd Div Grand Finals on at 4:00pm and 12:30pm, watch Leichhardt go off and if the Polecats snag to premierships it will be the club’s biggest party since 1997!


While every Polecat fan should be there in force cheering our boys to victory, just in case your interstate or overseas then you can keep update to date with live updates at www.polecats.com.au/live with 2nd Division bought to you by TAFE WSI and 1st Division by our 2016 major sponsor Matrix Norwest Financial services.


Grand Final Match Day Details:

1st Division: TAFE Western Sydney Polecats v UTS Tigers

Kick Off: 6:00pm

Hashtag: #POLvUTSGF


2nd Division: TAFE Western Sydney Polecats v UC grizzlies

Kick Off: 2:00pm

Ground: Leichhardt Oval

Hashtag: #POLvUCGF


Previous Results 1st Division

Round 1

TAFE Western Sydney Polecats 62 defeated UTS Tigers 12

Ground: Kellyville Park


Round 6

TAFE Western Sydney Polecats 30 defeated UTS Tigers 14

Ground: Kellyville Park


Round 11

TAFE Western Sydney Polecats 42 defeated UTS Tigers 16

Ground: Blackmore Oval


Round 13

TAFE Western Sydney Polecats 20 lost to UTS Tigers 24

Ground: Kellyville Oval


Finals Week 1

TAFE Western Sydney Polecats 10 lost to UTS Tigers 12

Ground: Norford Park


Previous Results 2nd  Division

Round 2

2nd Division: TAFE Western Sydney Polecats 12 lost to UC Grizzlies 44

Ground: Belconnen Stadium


Round 12

2nd Division: TAFE Western Sydney Polecats 12 lost to UC Grizzlies 30

Ground: Kellyville Park


Round 15

2nd Division: TAFE Western Sydney Polecats washed out UC Grizzlies

Ground: Kellyville Park


Finals Week 1

2nd Division: TAFE Western Sydney Polecats 16 defeated UC Grizzlies 6

Ground: Norford Park


1st Division Grand Final Side

  1. Shannon Norford
  2. Jarek Fuavaa
  3. Shane Rowe
  4. Russell Murtha
  5. Richie Mante
  6. John Norford
  7. Liam Parsons
  8. Greg Cranney
  9. Shane Brown
  10. Brendan Keevers
  11. Joe Ngawini
  12. Kareem Emara
  13. Tim Curley



  1. Dean Moodie
  2. Dean Harrigan
  3. Matt Thomas
  4. Luke Rye
  5. Veipueki Siale
  6. Anthony Hayward
  7. Jason Gill


Coach: Dan Jackson

Manager: Rob Weisback

Trainers: Peter Lamey and Chris Thompson


2nd Division Grand Final Side

  1. Sean Prior
  2. Josh Kabboura
  3. Ben Carter
  4. Peter Jennson
  5. Lloyd Harney
  6. Greg McEwen
  7. Ryan Bowen
  8. Greg Dowd
  9. Josh King
  10. Richie Ngawini
  11. Matt Thomas
  12. Meimeite Siale
  13. Scott Brown



  1. Michael Klapsogiannis
  2. Peter Ngaluafe
  3. Pati Lumelo
  4. Matt Ragen
  5. Chris Foreshew
  6. John Sawtell
  7. Joseph Wehbe
  8. Chris Maamari
  9. Andrew Mahusay


Coach: Kevin Corbett

Manager: Paul Fish

Trainers: Peter Lamey and Chris Thompson


Share This!