Introducing the Saturday Metro League

After 50 successful years the NSW Tertiary Students Rugby League competition has graduated and evolved into the Saturday Metro League!


The new competition will continue the traditions of the Tertiary League with 4 cornerstone tertiary clubs, Macquarie Uni Warriors, Sydney University Lions, TAFE NSW Polecats and UTS Leichhardt Wanderers all continuing along with welcoming Berowra Wallabies and Carlingford Cougars into the 2021 season.


The league will still be 100% amateur and run on Saturday afternoons, with possible Friday night and Sunday matches along with featured double and triple headers on certain rounds and the return of the Nines Preseason competition.


We will still be continuing our pathways to representative sides within the league and along with our close relationship with Australian Universities Rugby League and NSW Students Representatives sides, there will still be opportunity to represent our state and country at the highest levels of Tertiary Rugby League.


With our degrees in hand the Saturday Metro League future looks bright and as we look to expand in more parts of Sydney along with bringing back our 2nd Division competition in coming seasons, the possibilities will be endless.


So with the 2021 season just about to begin with our Nines competition, you can now join us at our new home at along with all our socials to keep up to date with this year’s action along with reminiscing in our rich the history.



Share This!