The Bed Head Cup

This Saturday, The NSW Tertiary League (Currently Metro League) will be resurrected when 5 of the old teams converge on Kellyville Park for the inaugural running of the Bed Head Cup.

You may ask what is the Bed Head Cup, well in true Tertiary League style from a competition that had clubs, like the Seahorses, Polecats, Tree Frogs, Beavers, Cows and Mungoes, the Bed Head Cup is the Tertiary Leagues Old First Division Trophy named the University Cup, which isn’t a cup, it’s a shield the size of a bead head, ok hope that’s clear now!

The University Cup was first run in 1970 with Sydney University having their name etched into Tertiary League history as the inaugural winners and with UTS Wanderers claiming the last running of the First Division prize in 2020, defeating TAFE NSW Polecats in the 51st year of the competition, while unfortunately due to Covid the 52nd season was suspended.

There has been many different clubs who have lofted the Bed Head high on Grand Final day, none more than the Polecats who have claimed the title 18 times, along with UTS 10 times, Sydney University 5, Macquarie Uni twice and University Canberra only every making the Grand Final once, being runners up in 1999.

While the University Cup is no longer run as a full home and away competition, still head on down to Kellyville for a cracking day of Tertiary Rugby League, where old rivalries will be reborn on the field and old friendship will be rekindled off it as we wipe the dust of the Bed Head Cup and play for the Tertiary League’s ultimate prize!

For more history of the Tertiary League head to

2024 Bed Head Cup


Bronze Final

Bed Head Cup Final

Kellyville Park

Post Match Function will be at the Vicar Hotel Dural

Share This!